Eat Well on Less ~ Shopping

Okay this was the plan ~ Go shopping with my list and £30.

Well as often happens in real life with kids our day turned out to be slightly hectic.  So our calm shopping trip turned out to be a rush job.

‘So did I stick to my £30 budget?

Well that’s a big fat NOPE!!!

In fact I spent £56.  Pretty disastrous.  Or so it first appeared but stick with me and I will hopefully redeem myself slightly.

So what went wrong?

3 things really.

1st I took my son with me and that’s never a great idea.

2nd I didn’t (as planned) go with cash to avoid overspending.

3rd I gave in to those buy 3 for … offers.  However as you’ll see as you read on I’d actually quite pleased with this.

So let’s have a look at what happened.  

Firstly not all of the £56 went on food.  I knew I had cleaning products, toilet roll etc to buy too.

Secondly I’ve bought more of some things than I will use in 1 week.

I have enough chicken, orange juice, water, weetabix and milk to last at least 2 weeks.  I buy Cravendale milk which is good in the fridge until the 20th January and lasts a week once opened.

I have to say I was pretty annoyed with myself for my lack of control when I got home.  Then I took a deep breath and sat down with my bill.  I worked out what I’d be using this week.

The total came to £24.15 Not at all bad when it’s broken down.

I don’t have eggs (I buy them from the local garden center) These are £1.15 for 6 and I’ll need to buy apples and bananas still as the fruit shelves were a bit sparse.

So although I actually overspent on the day, I’m pleased that I was much more conscious of what I was buying and I have food to last me a good couple of weeks.  I will need to top up next week with fruit and veg again but this is certainly an improvement.

Our meals for today

Breakfast ~ Cereal, milk and orange juice

Lunch ~ Chicken and noodle soup with bread

Evening meal ~ Gammon, baked potatoes and beans (JM had leftover Christmas biscuits for pudding)

Snacks ~ Fruit

No pack up today as school only starts tomorrow.

 

I’ll keep a track of my weeks meals and post them at the end of the week.

Please let me know if you succeeded with the £15 per person food shopping?  Also please share you tips for eating well on less.

 

Leave a Reply

