Snow and Warming Meals

Well the snow is coming down and the wind is blowing.  I’ve just looked out across the road and I can’t even see the house opposite.  So yes I’ve got the heating  on (fairly low).  I’ve got nice warm clothes on too.

I really thought this cold weather was behind us and we were in for some nice Spring weather.

So I’ll be making a nice winter warmer for tea tonight.  I was thinking Corned Beef Hash.  My son loves it.

My Corned Beef Hash Recipe

Take a big pan and half fill with water

Put it onto boil

Add

2 chopped onions

A load of diced carrots

A load of chopped potatoes

Place the lid on the pan and once up to boiling reduce the heat and simmer gently until the veg starts to soften.

Add 2/3 tablespoons of gravy granules (or similar)

Once the veg is nice and soft add 2 tins of corned beef cut into chunks (I like them left fairly big)

Heat gently for a further 5 minuted and stir very gently to avoid breaking up the corned beef too much.

Serve alone, with bread or with pastry shapes.

***********

This recipe is great for warming you up on cold days.

 

I always make plenty so that I can put some in the freezer for busy nights.

What meals do you like on a cold day?

Leave a Reply

