Living with no money?

I’ve just been reading The Moneyless Man by Mark Boyle.

In the book the author Mark Boyle takes us with him on his year of freeconomic living.  Now whilst I have no intentions of giving up money I did find the book really interesting.

It’s another book that really made me ask the question “Do we really need all of this stuff to be happy?”

Now I love the security of having a nice safe and warm home to live in and the luxury of running water and a flushing toilet, all of which Mark went without during his year of Freeconomic living and I have no desire to give up these things, but for me this comes back to the amount of stuff we waste.

I have long believed we are now living in a throw-away country.  If we’ve had it a while and something new has come out, we throw it away and get the newer model regardless of whether we need it or not.

One useful resource Mark mentions in the book is FreeCycle.org this is the UK group but if you click on the link you will see that there are links to other countries around the world. Using FreeCycle you can offer things you no longer want for free or if there is something you want you can request it.  EVERYTHING MUST BE FREE.

Couple Moving Sofa Stock Photo

I think this is a fantastic idea.  So even if you are someone who wants to update regularly you can still do your bit by letting someone else have your old things for free.  You keep your things out of land fills and you help someone else out.  It’s a win win game as far as I’m concerned.

So the next time you have something you don’t want anymore or if there’s something you need head to FreeCycle. 

Anyway back to the book.  I want to hear from you.  Have you read the book?  What do you think?  Could you live without money?  Would you want to give it a go?

I suppose the answer for me would be ~ Yes I could if I really had to, No I don’t want to and yes I will be more aware of waste.

 

Leave a Reply

