Could you live without a car?

I’m just listening to an interesting conversation on the radio about whether you can manage without a car. I have to admit I use my car most days. I live in a village in the country and to be honest the idea of myself and my son biking everywhere is frightening. I used to go on lovely bike rides when I was a child but I find that cars are less respectful these days.

It’s a call in show and it seems that most of the people who manage without a car live in towns or cities.  I can certainly see that this would be easier.

I put my hands up.  I love my car and the convenience it provides.

What are your thoughts?

Could you live without a car?

Do you already live without a car?

 

5 thoughts on “Could you live without a car?

  1. I lived in London for about 4 years, and managed perfectly well without a car. There were times when I would have liked one when venturing further afield to visit friends etc, but more out of convenience than necessity – trains and coaches did the job fine! I’ve now moved out of London, to somewhere where the buses only run every 30 minutes, the train station is a 15 minute bus ride away – the bus always gets you to the station ages before the train is due!!! I do have to travel quite a bit with my job, so I did get a car, and its completely changed my life!! My finances have taken a bit of a hit through petrol, insurance etc, but it’s 100% worth it!!

    Like

    • Thanks for your comment Stacey. Yes, after living abroad for many years not building any no claims up the insurance for my car has really been a shock financially.

      I’d like to see better public services at a more affordable price in this country.

      Like

  2. When we lived in a big city, Chicago, we did live without a car. We took public transportation. We currently live on off a truck traveled State Route that is not pedestrian or bicycle friendly and everything is about 8 miles or further away. We need the car. I’ve been debating on whether to reduce it to 1 car, but husband doesn’t like that idea. He feels it would be bad if I had to get son from school because he was ill or something. I still toy with the idea though. 🙂

    Like

    • I agree. I’d feel very uncomfortable not having a car and being in quite an isolated area. I like to know I have the freedom to get to where I want to be when I want to get there. Also the same as you, I would always want to be able to go and collect my son from school if he was poorly etc.

      Like

  3. We could not currently do it as we live off a road that is not pedestrian or bicycle friendly and everything is about 8 or more miles away. We did, however, when living in Chicago do without a car. We took public transportation. I do toy with the idea of downsizing to 1 vehicle, but my husband is not on board with that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

