Kitchen Roll Success, Hot Water Bottles and Blankets

Well I’m almost at the end of my first week of Frugal Living and becoming aware of how I spend my money and my time.  My first Challenge that I’ve set myself is to reduce (massively) the amount of kitchen roll I use.  I am happy to tell you that I have only used it once this week, it was two sheets which I used to cover some hot food that I was leaving out to cool before putting it in the fridge.  I’m counting this as a big achievement.  There have been many times I’ve reached for it and then questioned myself before actually ripping off a sheet.  So considering I easily get through two full rolls in a normal week I am very pleased with my effort. From 2 rolls to two sheets.  I think that’s a pretty good start.

Just to help me on my way the Universe obviously decided I was also using far to much money on heating and decided my heating system could take  a break.  Mmm, this particular saving wasn’t really on the agenda this week (a particularly cold week).  Never the less I do have some forms of heating and whilst they are only in certain areas of my home it is still possible to keep warm.  As I write this I have a blanket over my legs and my hot water bottle snuggled up to me.  Yes I am warm enough.  Yes I will still be happy when my lovely heating system works properly again.  Yes I will think twice before flicking it on from now on. 

So far this week I have learned that I really don’t need to use kitchen roll at all and I don’t like being cold 🙂

Happy living

Hot water bottle and blankets to keep me warm

Hot water bottle and blankets to keep me warm

Leave a Reply

